Installation of Exchange 2003 on a standalone server

Home Forums Messaging Software Exchange 2000 / 2003 Installation of Exchange 2003 on a standalone server

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    jewen

Hi there, I am fairly new to exchange server 2003, and as such, I am spending some time setting up various network configurations in a virtual environment. I have a couple of questions that relate to the following configurations.

The first configuration was created on one system which ran the following services:

Windows server 2003 ENT,
    DNS
    Active Directory
    Exchange Server 2003.
    XP client

I have been told that it isn’t reccomended to install exchange on the same machine as a domain controller. This also this seems to create issues when shutting down this particular server for maintenance or required reboots.

My first question relates to the above, in that, is this advice correct and what advice would the members give for setting up a small business network that could stretch to no more than three servers.

My second point relates to another test scenario where the following configuration was created:

SERVER 1
    Win 2003
    Active Directory
    DNS

Server 2 Mail Server
    DNS Secondary DNS Server
    Exchange 2003

XP client