I have a user running outlook 2013 and exchange 2013.
They were trying to send an email with the delay delivery feature turned on – so for example, they wanted to send the message automatically in 2 hours time.
When they closed outlook, they were getting a warning about a message being in the outbox, and that it would not be sent until they opened outlook again.
I discovered that by turned off cached exchange mode in outlook, this error message no longer appeared.
I am having to wait 30 minutes now to see if the email is actually sent as specified despite outlook being closed, but I suspect it will be.
The problem I have is that the user also has a laptop and if I turn cached exchange mode off on that, then the user will not be able to access outlook unless they are connected to the internet, but if I leave cached mode on, then they will continue to receive this error message.
Just wondering if this is normal behaviour, or if there is something I have missed…