Microsoft Certifications

Microsoft Certifications
Since the 1992, Microsoft has offered certifications to validate the skills of technology workers who use the Windows platform. Microsoft currently has several certifications available, and a new generation of certification was first announced in November 2005.


Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certifications enable professionals to target specific technologies and to distinguish themselves by demonstrating in-depth knowledge and expertise in the various Microsoft technologies with which they work.


The Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) certifications demonstrate comprehensive skills in planning, deploying, supporting, maintaining, and optimizing IT infrastructures.


The Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) credentials distinguish you as an expert Windows Application Developer, Web Application Developer, or Enterprise Applications Developer. These credentials demonstrate that you can build rich applications that target a variety of platforms using .NET Framework 2.0.

Microsoft Certified Architect Program

Microsoft Certified Architect Program (MCAP) targets practicing solutions architects and infrastructure architects who successfully apply frameworks and methodologies to create an architecture through the entire IT lifecycle.


Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technicians (MCDST) have the technical and customer service skills to troubleshoot hardware and software operation issues in Microsoft Windows environments.


The Microsoft Certified Learning Consultant (MCLC) credential recognizes MCTs whose job roles have grown to include frequent consultative engagements with customers. These MCTs are experts in designing and delivering customized learning solutions.


Microsoft Certified Systems Administrators (MCSA) administer network and systems environments based on the Microsoft Windows platforms. Specializations include MCSA: Messaging and MCSA: Security.


Microsoft Certified Systems Engineers (MCSE) design and implement an infrastructure solution based on the Windows platform and Microsoft Windows Server System software. Specializations include MCSE: Messaging and MCSE: Security.


Microsoft Certified Database Administrators (MCDBA) design, implement, and administer Microsoft SQL Server databases.


Microsoft Certified Trainers (MCT) are qualified instructors certified by Microsoft to deliver Microsoft training courses to IT professionals and developers.


Microsoft Certified Application Developers (MCAD) use Microsoft technologies to develop and maintain department-level applications, components, Web or desktop clients, or back-end data services.


Microsoft Certified Solution Developers (MCSD) design and develop leading-edge business solutions with Microsoft development tools, technologies, platforms, and the Windows architecture.

Microsoft Office Specialist

Microsoft Office Specialists (Office Specialists) are globally recognized for demonstrating advanced skills with Microsoft desktop software.

Related articles

You may find these related articles of interest to you:


Available Microsoft Certificationslink out ico