close

Home

Windows Client OS

Remove the Manage My Computer Context Menu from My Computer in 2000/XP/2003

Daniel Petri

|

How can I remove the Manage My Computer context menu from My Computer in 2000/XP/2003?

advertisment

In Windows 2000/XP/2003, when you right-click the My Computer icon on the desktop, you will see an option called "Manage".

By clicking on the Manage option will are opening the Computer Management console – a collection of the computer’s management tools (including Device Manager, Event Viewer, Disk Management, Disk Defragmenter, Shared Folders, Local Users and Groups and more).

advertisment

Although this tool can be easily run by going to the Administrative Tools folder, or by running compmgmt.msc from the Run command, it is still a possible security threat to leave it in place, and thus complicating the process or opening it (especially if you are also using GPO to add some extra security limitations).

To remove the Manage option from the context menu of My Computer in Windows 2000/XP/2003 follow these steps:

  1. Open Registry Editor.

  2. In Registry Editor, navigate to the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

advertisment

  1. Create the following value (DWORD):

NoManageMyComputerVerb

and give it a value of 1.

Note: As always, before making changes to your registry you should always make sure you have a valid backup. In cases where you’re supposed to delete or modify keys or values from the registry it is possible to first export that key or value(s) to a .REG file before performing the changes.

  1. Close Registry Editor.

  2. There is no need to reboot if you update your desktop by running gpupdate /force from the Run command (XP and Windows 2003).

Done!

Related articles

You might also want to read the following related articles:

Links

Rename or Delete Special Folders

Most popular on petri

Log in to save content to your profile.

Username/Email

Password

Login

Article saved!

Access saved content from your profile page. View Saved