close

Windows

Cloud

Microsoft 365

PowerShell

Active Directory

Security

Windows Server

Video

MVP Panel Talk: Do You Need to Backup Microsoft 365?

Home

Microsoft 365 Changelog

Microsoft Teams

M365 Changelog: (Updated) Teams Desktop Client Cross Cloud Anonymous Meeting Join

Rabia Noureen

|

MC335634 – Updated May 10, 2022: Microsoft has updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

This feature update to Cross Cloud Anonymous (CCA) Meeting Join in Microsoft Teams will allow users to join meetings as unauthenticated (anonymous) users.

  • This release expands the current unauthenticated (anonymous) meeting experience available for different tenants within a single cloud to all remaining Microsoft clouds (Worldwide, GCC, GCC High and DOD).

Note: This new functionality will only affect the Teams desktop client. Teams web client meeting join experiences will remain unchanged as they already support cross cloud meeting join.

This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 86311.

When this will happen:

Standard: Complete

GCC/GCC-H/DoD: deployments have been paused or rolled back and will require an updated client version. Deployment of the updated client is beginning immediately to these clouds. Full deployment to all clouds is anticipated to complete prior to the end of June.

Note: 

  • The minimum client version for Standard is: Windows: 1.5.00.8020, Mac: 1.5.00.8023.
  • The minimum client version for GCC/GCC-H/DOD has been updated to: Windows: 1.5.00.12666, Mac: 1.5.00.12657.

How this will affect your organization:

This change only impacts your organization if Anonymous Access to Teams Meetings is turned on in your tenant. When enabled, this feature allows users in other tenants and other Microsoft Clouds to join meetings hosted in your tenant as unauthenticated (anonymous) users.

What you need to do to prepare:

Please familiarize yourself with Teams Anonymous Meeting Join and the relevant administrative controls available to your tenant.

Article saved!

Access saved content from your profile page. View Saved