close

Windows

Cloud

Microsoft 365

PowerShell

Active Directory

Security

Windows Server

Video

Microsoft Teams Day is back!

Home

365 Apps

Microsoft 365 Changelog

SharePoint Online

M365 Changelog: Change in Item Insights behaviour in Delve and the Microsoft Graph Trending API

Rabia Noureen

|

MC450496 – Microsoft is making some changes to the user experience in Delve and how it relates to the Item Insights toggle.

Until now, users (or groups of users) who have had item insights turned off have not themselves been able to use collaborative experiences like Delve. As an example, when a user who has disabled item insights opens the Delve home page, it has shown an empty page. This will change on December 1, 2022

From this time, users who have Item Insights turned off are indeed allowed to use such experiences, while their own activities are still protected from being shared. In other words, the users with item insights disabled still have the same protection against undesirable discovery of their data, but they themselves are not locked out of seeing activities and data from users who have chosen to contribute.

It should be noted that nothing changes for customers where the tenant administrator has disabled item insights for the entire organization – since no users in the organization share their activities, experiences like Delve remain empty.

Some brief background information: By allowing Microsoft to compute item insights from signals in shared workspaces, one turns activities and content into usable recommendations, and makes this knowledge easily discoverable and usable to members of one’s organization. Doing so helps boosting the productivity of the entire organization. Even though Microsoft never discloses private documents and only uses insights of content that users already have access to, there can be cases where the risk of discovering the content by undesirable users outweighs the possible benefits. In these cases, one should consider turning off item insights. For more information on item insights and potentially turning it off, please see the official documentation.

You are receiving this message because our reporting indicates one or more users in your organization are using Delve and/or the Microsoft Graph Trending API.

The planned change will impact all users of these services, when this change is implemented. When the change takes effect, no action is required, from neither users nor administrators. 

Please click Additional Information to learn more.

Additional information

Help and support

Article saved!

Access saved content from your profile page. View Saved