Issue Splitting DNSServerSearchOrder results and sending to SQL DB

Home Forums Scripting Windows Script Host Issue Splitting DNSServerSearchOrder results and sending to SQL DB

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    XIIxOveR

Hi there,

Hopefully I can explain this well enough so that it makes sense. I’m relatively new to VBScript which will probably be quite evident in this, my first post here.

I am trying to capture the value of DNSServerSearchOrder from servers listed in an input file. I then want to write the primary, secondary, and tertiary values out to three seperate columns in a SQL database. Where I’m having trouble is sometimes a server may correctly have all three values whereby sometimes it will only have one or two values.

Function ReportDnsWins(DeviceName)
    Dim objWMIService, colCards, objCard, strDNSServerSearchOrder, strDNSServers
    Set objWMIService = GetObject(“winmgmts:” & “{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\” & DeviceName & “rootcimv2”)
    Set colCards = objWMIService.ExecQuery(“Select * From Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration Where IPEnabled = True”)
    For Each objCard in colCards
    strDNSServerSearchOrder = Join(objCard.DNSServerSearchOrder, “,”)
    strDNSServers = split(strDNSServerSearchOrder, “,”)
    Call Write2DB(DeviceName, strDNSServers(0), strDNSServers(1), strDNSServers(2), objCard.WINSPrimaryServer, objCard.WINSSecondaryServer)
    Next
    End Function
    [/CODE]

So this works great if the strDNSServers array ends up populated with three values from the split, however this will give an “out of range”, of course, for servers with only one or two values. If it’s anything over three I don’t care, I only care about the first three.