Cannot use RDP over VPN

Home Forums Client Operating Systems Windows 10 Cannot use RDP over VPN

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • Blood

Hi

I am having a problem creating a remote desktop connection to our servers over VPN. This has worked for many years. I posted the following on Microsoft’s server forum:

When Windows updates are available for our work servers, I use my Windows 10 Pro home computer (from home) to establish a VPN connection and then use Remote Desktop to log on to the servers, install the updates and restart the servers. After they have restarted I log on again to make sure everything is OK. I use Remote Desktop Connection Manager V2.2 (RDCM) to do this – this allows me to establish a connection to all 4 servers at the same time. I have been doing this for several years using various methods with XP, Vista, Win7 and Win8.1

I tried this a week last Thursday and although I could establish a VPN connection to my employers network, I was unable to establish a remote desktop connection. For example, I tried to connect to a server and the RDCM tries to connect but after between 5 and 10 seconds a message is displayed:

Disconnected from server-name (Unable to establish a connection)

I tried using Windows’ built-in Remote Desktop Connection (Desktop App), but it displays an error message saying

Remote Desktop can’t connect to the remote computer for one of these reasons:…

I have tried connecting using the server name (which is how I normally connect) and via IP address.